Coffee tastes too thin

ESAM 4200, coffee not strong enough

ToasterGod

January 19, 2015 12:32 pm

Coffee drinker

Group: Mitglieder

Member No.: 26197

Hello everyone,

I found your forum while searching the internet and read some posts already now, hoping to optimize the taste of my coffee from an ESAM 4200.
Since there are many professionals on the road and I am an absolute layman in the field of fully automatic coffee machines, since I have only consumed filter coffee or pads from the Senseo so far, I hope that you have some useful tips for me, which do not let my coffee taste so thin anymore.

The device came into my possession via a family member, because it should actually be disposed of due to a defective heater. But the device has been repaired and has now landed quite cheaply with me.

As I said, so far I have mostly consumed filter coffee, for which we have mostly resorted to Markus Kaffee Exclusiv from ALDI. We are also used to quite strong coffee, because one or two guests from the family have already complained about the strength of our coffee laugh.gif .

Now I have the ESAM 4200 for a short time and since I have no big idea of such a thing, have and on the weekend a little test wanted, I informed myself in the circle of acquaintances times, which beans are consumed there in such a way. I was then recommended the Melitta Bella Crema, which I then simply bought.

After I have studied the instruction manual and have tested a little, my coffee unfortunately still seems a little thin. I have set the grinder to level 3 and the controller on the front of the machine to maximum. The filling quantity for cups I have adjusted at present to about 3/4, so that I get my big cup quite well filled when pulling from 2 cups.